*Phew* It’s December!

The last time I graced this blog, I was considering doing NaNoWriMo, and if you don’t remember that blog post, you can read all about it here.

The reason for my absence since then has been preparing for and participating in said NaNoWriMo.  And I am happy to say that I finished my 50,000 words on my story with one week to go in November!  It was incredibly fun to sit down and pound out those words, oftentimes more than I needed, and watched the progress bar increase as I updated my daily word count.  Also, watching my writing buddies update their word count was a large part of the fun.  Writing a novel is usually such a solitary project that it was so nice to feel that community and sense of camaraderie as we all worked toward the same goal of 50k in thirty days.

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

My book is not finished, but I only have about one-fourth left to write.  I’m currently at 56,000 words and I’m still trying to keep up the momentum of writing each day so I can finish this novel.  That fear of not finishing is starting to get to me, and I will do nearly anything to keep that from happening. So I keep telling myself, “I will finish, I will finish, and I will finish soon.”

I’d like to think that motivating self-talk is helping.

I may not be writing as much daily as I was during NaNoWriMo, but each word written is still more than I had the day before, and as my husband would say, that’s what matters.

Also, speaking of my husband, he rocks.  He spent all of November being my biggest encouragement, motivation, and simply put, my biggest fan.  I had my own personal cheerleader of sorts.  He spent each and every day telling me how much I could totally do this, and how he knew it would be amazing.  Yep, he’s amazing, and ladies, he’s mine. ❤

Now my goal is to simply finish this book before Christmas, preferably by the first half of December.  I’m planning on letting it sit until after New Year’s, at which point I will return to it with my red pen and edit the crap out of it.  I’ve promised my husband the very first read, and then my sister-in-law, a good friend of mine, and possibly an author friend.  I still don’t know if I will publish this book; I guess I will have to see how I feel about it once I’ve completed at least one round of editing.

For those of you who don’t know (that is, those of you who don’t follow me on my other social media), my book is titled, “The Cursed Blessing.”  Here is the synopsis:

“Crossing the ocean didn’t turn out quite how she expected.  Actually, not at all how she expected.  As she’s dragged through the icy water and she gulped her last breath of air, she knew this was the end.  But was it?”

Vague, but purposeful.  Also, book summaries are the bane of my writing existence.  (I know nearly every writer can attest to this as well.)  I wanted to spend more time writing the book itself than crafting the perfect summary, for now.

My designer for “Where Shadows Lie” created a cover for my NaNoWriMo book, which I simply love!

tiallarising

And yes, there are mermaids.  You can get excited.  I know I am. *throws confetti*  I’m pretty sure I’ve always wanted to be a mermaid, so this book has been so much fun for me.  As a side note, this has been my first time writing fantasy and I am really loving it!  I’m sure I’ll be returning to fantasy again.

If you don’t hear from me again before the New Year, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and yours!

merry-christmas-gif-3

-Tialla

2 thoughts on “*Phew* It’s December!

What thinkest thou?

