Apartment Hack: Damage-Free Curtains

Hello friends!

Long time no talk. 😉 My absence has mostly been because my life has been both overwhelming with job and medical stuff right now while also not giving me anything particularly interesting to blog about.  Here’s what’s gone on recently in a nutshell (aka bullet points):

  • My husband got a new job (yay! It’s his dream job!). He’ll be working as the IT Coordinator at a charter school here in town.
  • I had some seriously intense dental work done two weeks ago.  We’re talking $2k, eleven shots, and 2 1/2 hours of trauma.  We’d saved up for this treatment for seven months.  I still have to go back to fix it a little.  Not at all excited!
  • Two weeks ago as well, the maintenance required light came on in our car, so we had to take it to the mechanic which wasn’t exactly best timing budget-wise the day after the dentist.
  • I had to quit my remote job one week ago (not the one I just got in February; the one I’ve had since 2013).
  • I’m job-hunting hard core and praying somebody calls me in time before our bills are due.
  • On the same day I had to quit, I ended up in the E.R. that night due to a weird reaction connected with a herpes simplex 1 virus breakout I got in reaction to the intense dental treatment I had done.
  • If you didn’t catch that, it means an E.R. bill was generated on the same day I quit my job.  Exactly one week after we spent our savings of $2k.  Oh and it was also the day of our eleven-month wedding anniversary.
  • On Sunday, the back door of our car stopped latching.  That meant, whenever we drove, the door would just clunk open and shut randomly on curves and bumps.  We had to take it to the mechanic again and just got that fixed today, which, you know, is more $$$.

Now you’re all caught up.  Like I said, it’s been overwhelming.  But in other news, my husband and I recently put up curtains in our apartment and I want to blog about that!

For those of you who don’t know, we rent a tiny, 450 sq. ft. studio apartment, and as with most rentals, we can’t really put holes in the walls.  Because of that, living in an apartment isn’t necessarily the easiest when it comes to decorating and making the space feel like home.  However, when we realized that curtains would not only make our windows with vertical blind slats a whole lot more private, but cozy as well, we found a way to still put them up without any drilling or screws.

Command hooks are one of my favorite things ever.

I think we got the inspiration originally from Pinterest, but I honestly can’t remember.  I do know for certain, though, that we headed to Walmart and picked up black-out curtain panels (my husband is from Alaska so he likes it really dark), curtain rods, and three command hooks per window.  As with traditional curtains, it’s important to have a center command hook to hold the rod up so it doesn’t bow with the weight of the curtains.

The process was a little tricky for us to get the command hooks positioned right (we are so not naturally gifted DIYers), which meant we actually had to position this center one on the blinds itself because we didn’t really know what we were doing and put up the edge hooks first without measuring how low it was.  We don’t mind, though…I’m just glad to have the curtains and I think they make our apartment look so much more home-like!  Overall it was a simple process (and probably a walk in a park for those who do home projects and DIY all the time).  We love how they turned out!

For those of you who rent or have rented, what kind of damage-free apartment hacks have you discovered?  I’d love to know!

Until next time,

Tialla ❤

4 thoughts on “Apartment Hack: Damage-Free Curtains

  1. Major congrats to your husband on his job!!! HOW EXCITING! And thank you for the hacks! I used command strips all through college, but I don’t know why I don’t use them more now?!

    • Thanks so much! I’ll let him know! We are both so excited for this new opportunity for him! Haha sure thing! Right, it’s just kind of something that you don’t really think about, but they are so helpful!

  2. Girl, that is so much stress! *hugs* Hope things are okay!

    On a happier note – these look great! I love using the 3mm command strips! We still use them around our house just to avoid having to patch holes later.

    • It has been a lot, but I’m praying things lighten up soon! ❤

      Thanks!! Command strips are so great! I love the idea of not having to worry about holes with them. We even put them in our shower to hang our loofahs, haha!

Leave a comment

