Snowbowl’s Sky Ride

Joshua had a four-day weekend this past weekend since he works at a school and they were off for fall break!  Personally, I never knew fall break was a thing, but I was also homeschooled, so that’s probably why.  😉 Either way, four days off meant lots of fun for us!

We aren’t morning people, so our excitement toward days off always centers around sleeping in.  We plan adventures for the rest of the day too, but the most welcome part is getting some extra sleep.  (No matter how early we go to bed during the week, it just doesn’t make a difference in the mornings for us.  Yay for the weekend!)

This is how our weekend schedule looked:

  • Friday: The Arizona Snowbowl Scenic Sky Ride
  • Saturday: Tattoo Consultation (post soon to come on that!)
  • Sunday: Church & work (for me)
  • Monday: Hiking, pizza, & Dancing with the Stars.  (Anyone else watching this season?!  Can we just talk about how Victoria can dance when she can’t feel her legs? #Mindblown.)

Today I’ll be talking about our adventures at The Arizona Snowbowl Scenic Sky Ride!  First though, I want to mention that our Monday plans didn’t work out, because Sunday night I got an awful blistered cold sore, which made me feel miserable.  Instead, we slept the day away, made French Toast Casserole, did homework for class, showered, grabbed Starbucks and pizza for dinner, and then watched DWTS and The Good Doctor.  (Also an incredible show so far.  I am loving it and Freddie Highmore is a brilliant actor.)  FYI, don’t drink caffeinated Starbucks at 8 PM.  We basically didn’t sleep that night.  Yay for more coffee the next day, lol. 😉

We started off Friday with donuts.  Sometime after we first got married, we discovered the joy of getting donuts on the weekend, and now it’s one of our favorite things to do (and the hardest thing to say “no” to when I’m trying to eat healthier/watch calories).  My favorite donuts are apple fritters and we discovered that our grocery store bakery also has blueberry fritters, so I decided to try one.  They are still good, but not as good as apple in my opinion.

Anyway, Snowbowl is a ski lodge here in Flagstaff that also offers scenic sky rides up the mountain during summer and autumn.  I always love going on the chairlift in autumn because of all the changing leaves and beautiful colors.

Being on the mountain is breathtaking, especially when coming back down.  The view is expansive and it feels like we can see all of Arizona.  In a fairly childish way, I always feel like I’m flying because the trees are at a steep angle on the mountain slope, typically putting us above them.

My poor husband doesn’t do so well with heights, but he still came with me, which melted my heart.  I made sure to encourage him by letting him know at the highest point, we were only fifty feet above the ground.  If we fell, at most we’d injure our legs right?  That’s at least what I told him, and it seemed to help him relax a little and enjoy the ride more.

When we were getting on the chairlift, I was pretty nervous because I read it was supposed to be “winter-like” conditions with strong winds and 20 degrees Fahrenheit at the top of the mountain, and I had left my jacket in the car.  Turns out, the top was actually warmer than the ride itself, with barely even a breeze, so it worked out!  Coming down was colder due to riding against the breeze, but it was tolerable when I cuddled against Joshua with his arm around me. 😉

The elevation at the top of the mountain is 11,500 ft, and even though I’ve lived in Flagstaff at 7,000 feet nearly my whole life (therefore, my lungs are accustomed to breathing thinner air), I still felt the effects of far less oxygen.  It wasn’t anything major, I was just trying to read a lookout sign aloud and ran out of breath within basically one sentence, lol.

Joshua and I had a good laugh about it and discussed our differences with how  he didn’t get cold at all on the ride (he’s from Alaska, so he’s accustomed to the cold), but I had an easier time at the top of the mountain (because he lived in a sea-level valley in Alaska and I’ve lived in the mountains).

We both took pictures of each other at the top and since we aren’t photographers in any sense of the word, we are both dark against the background.  Oh well, it’s still a fun memory.

I was kind of hoping some of the people sitting at a picnic table nearby would offer to take our picture together, but no one did…they just watched.  I guess I could have asked someone, but I always feel like I’m inconveniencing them.  #ShyPeopleProbs

I realized just now that I didn’t get any pictures of the actual autumn trees with the changing leaves.  I was pretty nervous about dropping my phone on the ride, so I suppose that’s why!

The rest of Friday continued to be fantastic.  When we got back down off the mountain, we ordered takeout gyros from a Mediterranean restaurant called Pita Jungle, stopped home to drop off some things, then picked up sodas and enjoyed a Friday movie night at Joshua’s parents’ house.

Do you have any kind of sky ride or scenic chairlift near you?

-Tialla ❤

5 thoughts on “Snowbowl’s Sky Ride

  1. What a nice adventure, and so nice of him to sort of take on his fear of heights. I always say that you can do the things you’re afraid if you’re with the right person 😉
    And donuts… I miss them.. I think that when I stopped eating junk food, cupcakes and donuts went into that list too. Sadly, the places I loved no longer taste the same so I have to find a new donut shop. In the meantime, all the ones I’ve had have sucked lol.

    • That’s too true, being with the right person makes all the difference when it comes to doing things we are scared of. I know there have been a few things I never would have done before but was able to make it through when I was with him. ❤
      Oh it really would be so sad to have to cut out donuts! I never used to eat them, but then my husband and I got them once or twice and now it's become a craving every few weeks, lol. It's so hard to find a good donut, though, so I understand. I think that's why I never ate them before, they were all dry and unremarkable.

  2. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesday | Nov. 2017 | Tialla's Tellings

  3. Lol when you mentioned that you had no idea what fall break was, I was like same! I’m homeschooled as well and had no idea fall break was a thing till my friend in public school told me.

    • Exactly! I think that’s just something that most of us homeschoolers don’t observe typically. It’s strange to me because it seems pretty soon after starting school! Thanks for commenting, Alexa! ❤

Leave a comment

